• The main library of Universitas Islam Indonesia surrounds a Hindu temple.

Track 07. Agile Development

Track chair

  • Julian Bass (j.bass@salford.ac.uk, University of Salford, United Kingdom)

Call for papers in pdf

Overview of the research area

Iterative and Incremental approaches and agile methods have been used in software development projects to reduce risk of project failure, improve team productivity and enhance product quality. Such agile methods as scrum, extreme programming and dynamic systems development method have emerged standard approaches over the last 10 years.

This track will address iterative and incremental approaches in ICT4D. Submissions may, for example, address scaling ICT4D interventions from proof of concept through a series of incremental phases to large scale deployment. Alternatively, NGOs and development agencies are explicitly using agile methods to manage risk and remain flexible in the face of change. Papers from an empirical or theoretical perspective will be solicited. We seek to draw on ICT4D research and best practices, as well as modern IT project management practices and software development methods to understand deployment issues in large scale ICT4D projects. The use of lean or Kanban approaches would be of particular interest.

We are particularly interested to receive submissions that investigate the use of Agile Development for promoting social harmony. Agile development that seeks to use technologies to diminish structural barriers, democratise information, balance between power and dependency, and transform human values. Submissions addressing the ‘social construction’ role of information technology especially in the contexts of peace and conflict, cooperation, and development of human capital for creating a ‘sustainable world’.

This track builds upon the IFIP Working Group 9.4 European Workshop on this topic held in Aberdeen, UK in May 2014.

Associate editors

  • Ian Allison (University of West of Scotland, United Kingdom)
  • Devinder Thapa (University of Agder, Norway)
  • Eswaran Subrahmanian (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)
  • Andy Dearden (Sheffield Hallam University, United Kingdom)